TTSD School Board votes continue to trickle in

Sean Khanna, Staff Writer

Three new officials will sit on the Tigard-Tualatin School Board after the local election on May 18.  David Jaimes, Tristan Kira Irvin and Marvin Lynn will all join the board. Current officials Sharon Fox in Position 1, Karen Emerson in Position 3 and Maureen Wolf in Position 5 were not attempting to run for new four-year terms, leaving their positions open. School board members are elected to oversee and manage a public school district by setting goals for the future, adopting various policies, hiring a superintendent, managing the annual budget and more. 


Position 1 – David Jaimes

Three contestants – Amy Zuckerman, David James and Donna Kreitzberg – ran the most contested race for Position 1. According to the unofficial results of the election as of May 25, David Jaimes has been elected to the TTSD board of directors. Jaimes currently leads the Position 1 race with 42.43 percent of the vote, trailed by Donna Kreitzberg who has 29.85 percent of the vote and Amy Zuckerman who has 27.45 percent of the vote. 

“I’m very excited,” Jaimes stated in an interview with Pamplin Media Group. “My candidates were really strong candidates and I’m just lucky that I’m able to be on the board.” 


Position 3 – Tristan Kira Irvin

Two contestants, Tristan Kira Irvin and Octavio Gonzalez, ran for the Position 3 spot on the board of directors. Tristan Kira Irvin pulled ahead of Octavio Gonzalez, receiving 53.38 percent of the vote compared to Gonzalez’s 45.99 percent.

“I am incredibly honored to get to serve alongside Board Directors Zurschmeide, Bowman, Jaimes, and Lynn, and to represent this new chapter for TTSD,” Irvin addressed in an email. “Thank you so much to all of the voters who placed their trust in me. I can’t wait to get to work!” 


Position 5 – Marvin Lynn

Marvin Lynn ran uncontested for the Position 5 opening, accumulating 96.66 percent of the vote.